Detroit Deal Diva

Couponing Gone Wrong-CVS & Meijer

Posted on: September 29, 2010

I thought I was prepared for my shopping this past Saturday, but my CVS trip went completely awry. I will not bore you with the details, but let’s just say that I was not very happy with my OOP cost.  I let my daughter’s necessities (Pull-ups and formula) get low and had to make purchases at less than ideal prices. This led to me having overall high OOP costs all day.  I minimized the damage as best I could. LOL  It goes to show that even the most coupon savvy shoppers have off days.   It is also why stockpiling at rock bottom prices and managing your stockpile is so important. You do not want to get caught having to pay full price, especially for diapers/training pants.

No worries, it happens and I look forward to next weekend. Now on to my shopping haul. 

CVS-There were a couple of purchase mishaps, but I will try to simplify the breakdown.

  • (4) boxes of Quaker Oatmeal $2/$5.00-used (4) $1/1 9/12/10 RP
  •  (2) Revlon Lipstick -$6.99/ea-used (2) $2/1  (no longer available)
  •  (4) Right Guard Deodorant $2.99/ea-used (2)$1.50/2 8/15/10 RP
  • (4) packs of Huggies Pull-Ups $8.99/ea-used (4) $2/1 printable
  • used $3/15 CVS Q
  • used$10.00 ECB
  • used $2.00 ECB

Total Value=$$107.52    Total OOP=$41.46    Remaining ECB’s=$16.00    Total Savings=76%

Next stop.. Meijer 

  • (10) Boston Market frozen entrees-$2.20/ea-
  • (2) Hidden Valley Ranch Farmhouse Dressings-$2.50/ea
  • (3) Campbell Chunky soup-$1.25/ea
  • (2) Enfagrow Toddler formula-$18.99/ea
  • $5.00 OYNO coupons are from purchasing the Boston Market dinners ($5/OYNO wyb 5 or more dinners)

Total Cost= $81.54     Total OOP=$37.40   Total Coupons & Store Promos=$44.14    Total Savings= 54%

I know that saving 76% and 54% is nothing to sneeze at, but I have exceeded my weekly shopping budget  ($50-$75) and I haven’t even gotten to my Target shopping trip.  I will show my Target purchases in a separate post.     

2 Responses to "Couponing Gone Wrong-CVS & Meijer"

You still did great! I know what you mean about letting necessities run low and then having to pay more when you really need them – that really hurts! Anyway, I did good at Target w/ the $5 gift card offers in Sunday’s coupons, my haul at Kroger was comparable to yours at Meijers – 56% savings. I didn’t even bother w/ CVS! We’ll get ’em next time! 🙂

Thanks for subscribing and for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers

